Bilateral Agreements and MoUs
Home › Bilateral Agreements and MoUs
•    Bilateral Agreement on Trade, Economic, Industrial and Technical Cooperation signed in 1977.
•    Agreement for Cooperation in Science and Technology signed in 1998.
•    Cooperation Agreement on Economic and Industrial Cooperation signed in 2000.
•    Cultural Cooperation Agreement signed in 1980.
•    Agreement on cooperation on Tourism between India and Portugal (July 1991)
•    Bilateral Investment Protection (BIPA) signed in 2000. This was terminated by India on 18th July 2012.  Now the competence to enter into a Bilateral Investment Treaty lies with the EU and not with individual members of the EU.
•    Agreement between Federation of Indian Chambers of Commerce & Industry (FICCI) and the Portuguese Foreign Trade and Investment Agency (AICEP) in 1992
•    Agreement between Confederation of Indian Industry (CII) and the Portuguese Association of Industries (AIP) in 1995
•    Treaty of Extradition (January, 2007)
•    Agreement on Social Security Convention (March, 2013), will enter into force from May 8, 2017
•    Protocol of cooperation between the National Archives of India and the Presidency of the Council of Ministers of the Portuguese Republic (March, 2014)
•    MoU on the establishment of Nalanda University (October, 2015)
•    MoU on Joint Issue of Stamps (2015)
•    Agreement on gainful employment of diplomatic spouses (July, 2016)-entered into force from January 2017
•    MoU in the field of Civil Aviation (Air Service agreement) between India and Portugal (Dec 8, 2016)
•    MoU on Marine Research and Resources (signed on January 7, 2017)
•    MoU on cooperation in the fields of Information Technology and Electronics (January 7, 2017)
•    MoU in Renewable Energy (January 7, 2017)
•    Visa exemption for diplomatic and official passport holders (January 7, 2017)
•    MoU in Defence cooperation (January 7, 2017)
•    MoU between Invest India and Start-up Portugal for Start-up Partnership (January 9, 2017)
•    MoU in the field of Agriculture and Allied Sectors ((January 7, 2017)
•    MoU for establishment of the ICCR Chair in University of Lisbon (January 7, 2017)